“HR Told Me To Do It”

I was at a wedding this weekend and I was able to catch up with my friend  Donald.  He’s a fairly senior manager in an NHS Trust and years ago we briefly worked together.

Naturally, I asked how things were going and, unsurprisingly, Donald started to tell me about a “transformation” project he was working on.  In essence, he needed to make cuts in line with his decreasing budget and was trying to restructure his team.  He described his frustration because his plans weren’t running as smoothly as they should be and ended his story with

“….and in the end, I just did what HR told me to do.”

I think I was a bit blunt in my response – I blame my northern roots.   But it transpired that Donald didn’t actually understand what HR was advising him, so he thought it would be quicker and easier just to do what he was told.

There lies several issues with this.  As advisers on HR matters we need to ensure that managers understand what we’re advising.   I frequently ask managers whether they are “comfortable” (my exact words) with my advice.  Because if they aren’t, they won’t do it.

But more importantly Donald is accountable for his actions.   It is tough going through restructure, but employees will respect their manager more if they “own” the process.   And lastly, I don’t think Donald would come out of an Employment Tribunal with his dignity in tact if he uses the “HR told me to do it” defense.

So this Monday morning, I hoping Donald is going to pop into his HR department.  And for me, it reminds me once again how important it is that we, HR practitioners, explain complex policies and procedures in way that is plain and simple.

One comment on ““HR Told Me To Do It”

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi,

    I’m promoting our annual Online Recruitment Conference on Jan 26th.

    I’d like to offer you a free place at the conference and also referral fee income if you will help us promote the conference successfully.

    I will give you everything you need as well as a unique discount code to include in your promotion. If just one person uses this to book a delegate place we will give you a free place at the event worth £398.

    If more than 3 people use the code to book a place we will give you £200 and a further £100 for every extra 2 people who book using the discount code.

    In addition, just for agreeing to the partner us in promotion we will add you to our sponsors page promoted to 50,000 people.

    Thanks for your time, I look forward to hearing from you. The information below outlines the typical profile of the audience.

    Kind Regards,

    Sarah Hirons
    01483 263001
    http://www.enhancemedia.co.uk/conference

Leave a Reply

